Follow Me On Twitter

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

The Todd Reynolds Student Paper Competition

Please circulate widely.

*The Todd Reynolds Student Paper Competition** *

*Sponsored by the Disability Specialty Group of the *

*Association of American Geographers *

*Call for Papers*

Students working on topics concerned with the complex and multifaceted
geographies of disability, chronic illness, aging, caregiving, as well as
alternate interpretations and experiences of differently-abled or
marginalized bodies encountering the same stigma as ‘disabled’ (e.g. obese
bodies, aging bodies) are encouraged to submit a paper to the 2011-2012
Todd Reynolds Student Paper Competition sponsored by the Disability
Specialty Group (DSG) of the Association of American Geographers (AAG) .
The award is named after Todd Reynolds, Ph.D. (1971 - 2008), a scholar with
disabilities who pursued important research in human behavior and hazards

The goal of the award is to encourage student participation in the
specialty group and to recognize outstanding emerging scholarship in
disability geography in all its complexity as mentioned above. The
successful student will receive a certificate and cash prize of $100, as
well as a ticket to the Awards Banquet, should the winner be in attendance
at the New York AAG Meet. Presentation of the submitted papers at the New
York AAG Meet is desirable, but not mandatory, neither is current
membership of the DSG or AAG. International submissions are welcome.

Papers prepared for publication, conference presentation, and graduate or
senior undergraduate courses, as well as entries written specifically for
this competition, are eligible for submission.  Each student may submit
only one paper.  The student should be the lead contributor to the paper if
it is co-authored.  The paper should not exceed 25 double-spaced pages
(including all notes, references, tables and figures). 12 point font is
preferred along with standard margins.

A cover letter should accompany all entries and contain:

· Current title of the paper and a brief abstract (no more than 100 words).

· Author and co-authors’ names

· Academic affiliation

· Faculty advisor for the paper

· Mailing address

· E-mail address

· Phone number

*All entries must be received by December 1, 2011.* A copy of the paper
should be emailed to:

Ryan Parrey

Disability Studies

University of Illinois, Chicago


Dr. Joshua Evans

Centre for Global and Social Analysis

Athabasca University, Canada

Students considering submitting are advised to contact Ryan Perry and Dr.
Joshua Evans by e-mail in advance.  They will gladly address any questions
or concerns regarding participation in this competition.

Reviewers will be secured and their recommendations will be sent to the DSG
Board for the final award decision.

*Award notification*

The award recipient will be notified by February 1, 2012 and the
announcement made at the DSG Annual Business Meeting as well as the AAG
Awards Banquet in New York, should the winner be in attendance at the
latter venue.  The award certificate and check will be mailed to the winner
shortly after the 2012 AAG meeting in New York.  Post-conference
announcements will be found on the Disability Specialty Group page on the
AAG website and the GEOGABLE
as well as other appropriate venues.

No comments:

Post a Comment